Committees & Governors' Responsibilities

Board of Governors committees generally meet once a term and look at aspects of school governance in more detail than we do in Full Board meetings. Each committee elects a chair with the clerk taking minutes. Committees make recommendations or take decisions, which the chair presents to the next Full Board of Governors meeting to be ratified. For example, the Finance Committee reviews the school’s budget, but this has to be approved by the whole Board of Governors.

The Board decides what committees are needed, and writes their terms of reference, which defines what aspects of school governance the committee is responsible for.

The Board often asks a committee to look at a subject in more detail – for example, to review a proposed change to the school’s staffing structure or to review a school policy.

Finance, Premises and Staffing Committee

The Finance, Premises and Staffing Committee sets the school budget (how we spend the money allocated to us), monitors the budget throughout the year and ensures that the school spends its money effectively and prudently.

  • Chair: Mr Nick Rozanski
  • Clerk: Mrs Jo Sattaur
  • Members: Mrs Dipti Babhania, Mr Colin Clifford, Mr Dave Cooper, Mrs Zakiya Dean, Mrs Hannah Panayiotou, Mr James Simmons, Mr Dennis Varcoe (Vice Committee Chair), Mr Naim Hassani, Mr Hemal Davda, Mr Himesh Patel & Mr Omar Iqbal.

Curriculum, Standards and Pupils Committee

The Curriculum, Standards and Pupils Committee deals with the way the school delivers the National Curriculum, targets and achievement, teaching initiatives and specific areas such as religious education and sex & relationships education.

  • Chair: Mr Hemal Davda
  • Clerk: Mrs Jo Sattaur
  • Members: Mr Wajid Bokhari, Mr Omar Iqbal (Vice Committee Chair), Mr Dave Cooper, Mrs Anisa Rupalia, Mrs Fouzia Khan, Mrs Zakiya Dean, Mrs Annette McAndrew, Mrs Mary-Jo McGrath, Mrs Hannah Panayiotou, Mr James Simmons & Mr Crawford.

Panels and Working Groups

Pay Review Panel

  • Members: Mr Dave Cooper, Mr Nick Rozanski & Dennis Varcoe

Pupil Disciplinary Panel

  • Members: Mr Nick Rozanski, Mr Dennis Varcoe & Cllr Ellie Southwood

Complaints, Appeals and Exclusions Panel

  • Members: Mr Nick Rozanski, Mr Dennis Varcoe & Cllr Ellie Southwood

Headteacher’s Performance Management Panel

  • Members: Mrs Hannah Panayiotou, Mr Himesh Patel and Mr Hemal Davda

Effective Governance Working Group

  • Members: Mrs Hannah Panayiotou, Mr Nick Rozanski, Mr Dave Cooper, Mrs Mary-Jo McGrath & Mrs Zakiya Dean & Mrs Dipti Babhania

Policies Working Group

  • Members: Mr Dave Cooper, Mr Colin Clifford, Mr Dennis Varcoe, Mr Crawford & Mr Nick Rozanski

Site Development & Refurbishment Working Group

  • Members: created as needed

Governors' Responsibilities

Governors focus on specific aspects of the school or on the education it provides to our children. Our governors visit the school to review the way it carries out its responsibilities, and will be involved in the formulation and review of policies and plans for that area. Governor responsibilities are assigned annually by the Governing Board.

  • BCA Champion - Hannah Panayiotou
  • CP & Safeguarding - Hannah Panayiotou & Hemal Davda
  • Health & Safety - Dave Cooper, Colin Clifford & Omar Iqbal
  • Pupil Progress/Inclusion - Hannah Panayiotou & Mary-Jo McGrath
  • Governor Monitoring - Ramzey Crawford
  • Governor Training & Development - Dipti Babhania
  • GDPR - Nick Rozanski
  • Curriculum Areas
    • Language Faculty - TBC
    • Maths Faculty - TBC
    • EYFS Faculty - TBC
    • Humanities Faculty - Omar Iqbal
    • Science Faculty - Omar Iqbal
    • Computing Faculty - Omar Iqbal
    • PE & Sports Faculty - Dennis Varcoe
    • PSHE & Well-Being Faculty - Naim Hassani
    • The Arts Faculty - Dave Cooper
    • Pupil Voice, SMSC, School Council, British Values & Collective Worship - Ellie Southwood

Whilst two governors are linked to safeguarding, the board is clear that "safeguarding is everyone's responsibility" and for that reason, all governors are linked to areas of safeguarding so the full board has a strong strategic overview of safeguarding.

If you would like a paper copy of any information found on the website, please contact the school office.